Sign in to follow this  
lawschoolisdone

In House Career Challenges

Hi all. 

Have some career challenges I'd like input on.

I'm a junior lawyer that has moved from private practice to an in house position. I am the only lawyer in the organization practicing a certain type of law in Canada and didn't realize how challenging this would be.

I feel completely over my head and lacking experience in nearly every task. I don't have anyone to turn to in the organization to seek guidance, and I am thinking I was (1) hired for a job I'm not qualified for or (2) the company thinks I much more experienced than I actually am, and (3) I left private practice too early into my career, unfortunately into a position where I have no mentorship.

Does anyone have any comments or input?

Three pieces of advice. Though note, all come from the perspective of someone who doesn't practice in-house. That said, I do practice in an area of law where just about everyone is out on their own to some degree, often without much experience, and so there's some cross-over.

1. To the greatest extent possible, develop a wide network of people who you can ask stupid questions. The more you spread it out, the less you are relying on any one person. You can avoid depending too much on one person for favors, and you can also avoid giving the people you ask for help, once in a while, the impression you are absolutely clueless.

2. Join professional associations, subscribe to publications, go to conferences, and actually use all of those resources. If you work for a company that's depending on you in this area you practice, they should see these expenses as necessary and appropriate. If they don't, that's their problem and not yours. You need to meet with someone and correct that, because if you don't the problem will get worse and not better.