Sign in to follow this  
lawyeredqueen

Volunteering at a Law Firm

Just wondering on how to land a volunteer position at a law firm as an undergrad, I called a couple of firms but they don’t take volunteers or if they do it’s only if you’re trying to do pro-bono work. Have any of you volunteered at a law firm?

Try a courthouse, law library or legal clinic instead.  They are often underfunded and could use some free labor. 

• Thanks 1

I was able to do so by networking. My university had a job fair thing where people come in from different industries and set up booths. There was a lawyer there and I simply spoke to him and talked about law school, asked questions, etc. During our convo. I mentioned I was interested in volunteering. I got his contact info, then he reached out and I was given a volunteer role with a project he was working on. Then through him I met other lawyers, and one who eventually hired me as a volunteer. 

• Thanks 1

To be perfectly honest I don't think it really boost your chance of going to law school. Sure it doesn't hurt, but there are tons of better options I think. 

• Like 1

The real value in volunteering with a firm will be to get a sense of what lawyers and students do and therefore make a more informed decision as to whether you really want to be a lawyer. Don't do it simply to help with admission; I doubt it'll make much  of a difference.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Iheartcats said:

[...] legal clinic instead.  They are often underfunded and could use some free labor.