buttercupflyaway

Is there a point in applying to business law firms with my grades?

Posted (edited)

I am a student at Queen's Law applying for the Summer 2L recruit and planning to participate in Toronto OCIs. I had originally planned to apply to many of the larger business law firms - BLG, Cassels Brock, Davies, Bennett Jones, etc. But I do not have stellar grades - five B+s and two Bs. No As. Is there a point in even applying to these places, or is it a waste of time? I know they obviously consider more than just your grades. I have legal experience from working this summer at a small local law firm, and I have volunteer experience from volunteering during 1L. But I don't want to spend time applying to these larger firms if I don't really have a chance and my efforts could be better spent elsewhere. Apologies - I know posts like these are probably pretty common. I would very much appreciate your thoughts. Thank you. 

Edited by buttercupflyaway

Posted (edited)

I don't underatand these sorts of questions - 

Applying consists of sending a C.V. and a (slightly) customized cover letter. 

Is that really so time consuming that you shouldn't bother if you don't have a great shot at an interview? It's a very small amount of effort (especially when compared to working at one of these firms). If you can't be bothered, how interested are you in working there, really? 

I know people with similar grades that work in large or national firms. It's certainly possible, if not likely. And at the very least, you get some practice doing applications, which can only help you. 

Edited by QuincyWagstaff
  • Like 2

Elsewhere on what? If you want to work in Toronto no one else is recruiting right now. 

10 minutes ago, easttowest said:

Elsewhere on what? If you want to work in Toronto no one else is recruiting right now. 

Many jobs open up throughout the year for second year summer.

But yes the vast majority are hired through this recruit (for 2L summer toronto).