ask7o7

UK LLB and Canadian LLM?

Hello,

This is my first time posting to the forum, if that's relevant. 

I'd like to practice in Canada, working something among the lines of prosecution. I'm considering going abroad to the UK to study for the LLB degree, although I'm only really considering Oxbridge, KCL, LSE, and a couple other schools. I understand that there's not much merit in going to less notable or less reputable schools, as that might be seen as "bypassing" the requirements for a Canadian one (no LSATs, prior degree, etc.). I'd like to study in the UK as I think it might be a gateway to studying International and European law, alongside the fact that if I do get the chance to study at a reputable school, I don't want to pass up on it. I was thinking that the best route for me after possibly studying in the UK might be to completing an LLM in Canada. However, I'm not exactly sure if that's possible. What obstacles do I face attempting this path, and what does NCA accreditation look like after having completed all this?  

There are plenty of threads in this subforum on the topic. To sum them all up: if you want to practice in Canada, try to study in Canada. Wherever you study will at least raise the question of if you were unable to gain access to a Canadian school.

Studying in Britain is not "a gateway to International and European law". It will teach you English law in England or Scots law in Scotland, neither of which apply in Canada (although English law is more applicable). Until, at this point, October 31st, European law transposed into national law will be a part of that.

If you then seek to return, you will either need to write the NCA challenge exams, or take a foreign degree to JD conversion LLM (I know this is currently offered at UBC, http://www.allard.ubc.ca/master-laws-llm-common-law-program, and I seem to recall hearing that at least one of the Ontario schools does or did at some point).