Hi

About a month and a half ago, I took charge of my life. I dropped out of a graduate program I hated and actively began working towards my dream of studying law. I did not quit, I made a choice about how I wanted to spend my life. I am currently studying for the LSAT exam.

My parents have been giving me absolute hell since I did this. They keep talking down to me, and demotivating me,  just because they cannot stand that I do not want to pursue the career of their choice (they really pushed me to enter the program I did). Every time we interact we fight. I cannot afford to move out, yet. I am working a job I absolutely despise to save for law school. I want to quit. I took a leave of absence until September to study for the LSAT. I really need a lot of time to study. 

During my undergrad, I have had a lot of mental health issues because of my home environment. And I would leave, but I cannot afford to, financially. I pay for my own food, study materials etc. myself, which is fine. I just didn't expect their reaction, I thought they would be way more supportive of my dreams/happiness. 

I just feel like I am decaying mentally and don't really know who to turn to. I really want to do well on the LSAT, pursue my lifelong dream of studying law, move to a new city, and restart. I figured, it's one more year, but every day it gets harder and harder to keep myself motivated, out of bed, focused, and I just don't know what to do anymore :(

Talk to a therapist would be my suggestion; affordability might be an issue...IDK to be honest. But keep working hard on the LSAT prep. Hold onto the job as long as you need to. I'm taking everything you said about your parents at face value, and so, no disrespect to your parents, but fuck them.

• Like 2

I agree, if you can, talk to a therapist.