Sign in to follow this  
bertiewooster

Salary negotiation - commission structure

I'm a 5th year call, in the process of leaving the firm I articled with for a new firm and starting to negotiate pay. I'm a solicitor, practicing primarily in wills and estates with some real estate.

I'm in a small community, moving to another small community, and am finding it difficult to get much information about pay outside of the larger centres.

I do, however, think that what I'm currently making is kind of odd. I get a base of $75k, plus 10% of anything I bring in over $150k, and 20% of anything I bring in over $175k. My impression from others I've talked to is that this is a bit unusual, but my problem is that my good friends, who are willing to talk money, are in Toronto, and I'm not close enough with any of the young lawyers in my town to ask. 

I'd like to shoot for a higher commission. What I'm not clear on is whether it's more common to be paid a lower commission on everything collected, or a higher commission only on collected billings above a certain target.

If this has been discussed before, please point me to the proper thread - I did search but didn't see any discussion of this particular question.

22 minutes ago, bertiewooster said:

I'm a 5th year call, in the process of leaving the firm I articled with for a new firm and starting to negotiate pay. I'm a solicitor, practicing primarily in wills and estates with some real estate.

I'm in a small community, moving to another small community, and am finding it difficult to get much information about pay outside of the larger centres.