Euroguy18

Tax Law and Math?

Hey everyone, 

I'm curious to know how relevant math skills are for the practice of tax law (tax litigation and/or tax planning). Tax law is a field that could potentially interest me going forward, but I feel that my arts background might limit my ability to succeed in this particular area of the law. 

If one doesn't have a business or economics degree, how would this impact one's chances for succeeding in tax law courses in law school and successfully practicing tax law as a lawyer? 

Is a business/economics/accounting background a necessary condition for the practice of tax law? 

Also curious about this. I did an arts degree as well but took some advanced mathematics and statistics courses but no accounting. Curious of what level mathematical proficiency would be required for tax law courses.

There isn't much math involved beyond basic algebra. You're not an accountant (though they don't need much complex math either).

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

As someone who specialized in accounting in university and is currently pursuing his CPA, I can attest to the fact that there isn't much math involved when it comes to tax. I don't know too much about the differences between the responsibilities of tax accountants and tax lawyers, but so far most of it is knowing your way around the Income Tax Act. All relevant math relating to tax planning at least can be done simply on calculators, and as stated above, the most advanced math related calculation I've done is basic algebra relating to returns on investments.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

8 minutes ago, PatarQ said: