icecreamsandwich

Just Another Post About Landing a 2L Job on Bay St

I have some questions about what I should be doing this summer to give myself the best shot at successfully landing a Bay St job this fall. For context, I'm at Osgoode and I finished 1L with an A average. When I started law school I really did not know what I wanted to do, so I didn't join the business law society or do any other business law extra-circulars. I have an arts degree for an undergrad. I did a fair amount of volunteering (CLASP, PBSC) in 1L, but nothing I did suggests that I'm interested in corporate law at all. My job this summer is in a non-corporate area of law. Given these factors:

1. what can I do this summer to demonstrate an interest in corporate law? If I don't find anything corporate to add to my resume before August, how much will that impact my chances?

2.  What strategies can I use to network/determine which firm is best suited to my interests if I'm not in Toronto for the summer?

Nobody is interested in corporate law. Your grades will be fine on their own. 

You’ll get some sense of firm culture when interviewing. You can research practice rankings on Chambers. 

• Like 1

21 minutes ago, NYCLawyer said:

Nobody is interested in corporate law. Your grades will be fine on their own. 

You’ll get some sense of firm culture when interviewing. You can research practice rankings on Chambers. 

lol. I always think it's weird when people say this as a 1L. I would probably be more inclined to hire someone who unashamedly said its for the pay and later opportunities...a lot more believable. When you say you're interested in corporate law I just think you're dying to start due diligence and closing agendas. 

There’s definitely no reason to worry that your background ought to signal corporate stronger. Like NYC said, you just aren’t competing with a cohort of A students who knew from undergrad that they wanted to do leveraged financing. Most people are in your boat.