Indlaw

Osgoode vs UC Irvine

Hello all, 

I am an engineer and an MBA from India with eight years of full-time work experience in India. I have obtained a Canadian PR as well as admits to Osgoode and UC Irvine (California) for their JD programs starting this fall. Osgoode would cost me 75K CAD + living expenses (assuming 120K since I would be living with my wife and kid) while UC Irvine has given me a full ride so it would cost me about 120K CAD. 

My aim is to work in biglaw as a transactional lawyer and since I am making good money already but taking 3 years off for law school, I would prefer to maximize my salary at least for a few years after law school. 

Now, UC Irvine has consistently placed about 35% of its batch in biglaw or federal clerkships, which means I need to be at least in the top one-third to be competitive for a biglaw job in the US. And I assume I would need to be in the top third at Osgoode for a good shot at TO biglaw. 

I would ideally want to work in the US (given the high starting salaries there) and then move to Canada after a couple of years where I would like to eventually settle down since I would be able to live as a permanent resident unlike in the US where I have to stay on an H1B visa. 

I would like to get your views on the decision I have to make given my above-stated goals and the difficulty in lateral-ing to Canadian biglaw firms after working in the US (would also like to understand your views on trying to find a job in Canada - biglaw or otherwise - in the scenario where I am unable to secure a biglaw position out of UC Irvine if I head there. Please also note that if I study in the US, I need to secure a biglaw position because no other employer will sponsor my H1B visa)

Thanks so much for your time.