andrewhl

U Alberta vs U windsor Dual

Posted (edited)

Hi

I'm still debating where should I go for law school, or should I go at all.

My wife and my kids have to stay in Toronto for multiple reasons so it will be only me who is moving.

Right now I am interested in the immigration business after law school. I've thought it for some time ever since I immigrated to North America. But I am still open to other fields such as real state if I feel I can do well.

Windsor Dual:

Pro: close to Toronto, 1-hour flight to downtown central island airport, which is about 10 min drive from my home.

It is an Ontario law school, so would be easier for me because I plan to stay in the GTA area at least until our elder kid goes to college, which will be another 10 years.

Con: Extra US course workload

Not being able to go back to Toronto for the first summer

The inconvenience of the board crossing (I am a Permanent Resident so I am not qualified for nexus yet)

regular board crossing also may have an impact on my future citizenship application because immigration authorities have to make sure I stay long enough in Canada, with a weekly board crossing travel history it will be a huge headache and probably delays the process.

almost 50k/year tuition

U Alberta:

Pro: more affordable tuition

a decent reputation in west Canada,( not sure how it works out in Toronto though)

No need to apply US F1 visa/No border crossing issue

Con: 5-hour flight home and 3-hour jet lag

Not an Ontario law school 

The last option for me is to give up law school for now. I have thought simply giving up law school and go for an Immigrant consultant diploma program, which usually only last a few months and can let me write an exam to be a Regulated Canadian Immigration Consultants. It's cheaper, faster, easier and I don't have to be long distance with my family.