gopz

How do people react when you mention you're a lawyer/in law school?

Purely for my own curiosity (Ive got too much time on my hands), I was wondering if anyone has any stories of how people react finding out that you're a lawyer/studying law. Do they treat you with disdain, give you more deference, or generally not care? I assume most people dont think twice about it, but Ive also heard horror stories of people hating you immediately after finding out youre a lawyer simply due to misconceptions of lawyers as a whole. Obviously, answers will be very anecdotal; thats what im looking for. 

Apologies if this is the wrong subforum to post this in. 

When I mention that I'm a law student I generally get some sort of awkward congratulations as if I just cured the common cold and expect a compliment. After this it generally fades and people could care less. On the other hand people that know I'm a law student for some reason expect me to be some sort of intellectual genius in every situation. On one occasion I was made fun of for not fully comprehending the rules of a card game because I'm a "smart law student". Circle that square.

• Like 5
  • Haha 3

Everything from surprise to disdain.

But one thing that is universal is suddenly everyone expects you to know everything about every area of law. Except other lawyers who know better. Oh, and god help you if you make the type of silly mistake the "common-folk" make in anything you do. You'll never hear the end of that one.

"Oh, man aren't you supposed to be a lawyer" ... yes ... because lawyers are infallible space-deities with super-computers for brains and perfection as a prerogative. 😫

I mostly just say I'm in the legal field and won't use the word "lawyer" unless pressed.

• Like 1