PersianMan

Did you enjoy 1L?

Hi Everyone, 

I guess the title kind of speaks for itself, but whenever I talk to someone who has gone through 1L they've told me how brutal it was and how they "hated their lives". I was wondering, everything being considered (i.e. studying, stress, new environment, new people, etc.), have any of you enjoyed your 1L? For some context, I am starting my 1L next fall at Western.

Thank you!

I did. It was fun compared to having a real job before law school. There's a learning curve, but it can be fascinating and fun. Academically it's really not that bad. The job stuff can be stressful if you don't prepare for it or allot any mental energy towards it.

You'll soon find that law students (especially 1Ls and then articling students) enjoy coming together to complain. It gives them (or I should say "us", as I'm an articling student) a sense of surviving in the trenches with one another and overcoming all odds to accomplish something great. But really, it's just an echo chamber of complaints and in reality it's not bad at all.

You will have fun if you learn to study smart and enjoy the process.

• Like 7

I had a very steep learning curve at the beginning so I had a really hard time with the first half of 1L adjusting to understanding case law and personal and financial pressures I was dealing with, but I absolutely loved the second half of 1L and the rest of law school. Best part was that I met my best friends in 1L. 

Bragging about how tough 1L was is a rite of passage - don’t take it seriously.

• Like 1

Posted (edited)

I hated 1L. I put a lot of pressure on myself  to do well (as many do) and I was super stressed. If you search my history you’ll find a melodramatic post I made about feeling burnt out after 2 months (lmao  insert world’s smallest violin). Once I got my midterms marks back and saw that I wasn’t as incompetent as I felt I relaxed a little. (Imposter syndrome can be really stressful in 1L)