TheFray99

Making a tough decision

Hi everyone,

I'm going to try to keep this post vague on details for anonymity purposes.

I was accepted this cycle to an Ontario law school, and I am so torn on if I should accept the offer and attend. 

I currently work in the policy world (in a field where I received my Masters in) and I am making great money in this role. There is certainly room for growth, job protection, fantastic work/life etc. There are parts of the job that I do enjoy, but I largely feel "empty" in this role. 

I always had aspirations of practicing law, even when I graduated from grad school and accepted this job offer, I knew that I still wanted to attend Law School in the near future. My judgement isn't clouded with the "prestige" narrative of being a lawyer. For the last several years, I have been intrigued by immigration law/policy, but I understand that these interests may change. However, I truly do feel that I would be fulfilling my professional dream by becoming a lawyer in this area. 

I am just so torn on this decision. I realize the ridiculous opportunity cost associated with forgoing 3 years of income and attending law school, but I just don't want to live a life where everyday I regret not attempting to pursue this dream. I feel like staying in my current role and field would be the "safest" option, but like I mentioned, I don't want to live a life of regret.

Any advice, insight, and critical feedback would be very much appreciated.

It is weird to me how so many people look at being as a lawyer as a "dream." I always think, you guys need to aim higher because a "dream" should be something much harder to achieve.