osbaldM

Switching to notary after obtaining lawyer license?

I graduated from Mcgill Law and I'm in the process of applying for Ontario Lawyer License. Unfortunately I can't say I really enjoyed my study at all unlike my undergrad field that I'm actually passionate about (but the prospect of finding job in that field is quasi non-existent -my fellow friends either went abroad to teach English or doing part-time jobs completely unrelated to the field- which is what made me pursue law instead). I also did not enjoy working in law firm in the summer. So right now I'm seriously questioning my career choice but I at least want to go through the licensing process since I don't want the last 3.5 years to go to waste and just want to get over with it before reexamining my career choices. 

I was recently informed that lawyers in Ontario could directly apply to become notaries once they've obtained their license. Has anyone been through this? What made you do this and do you enjoy the field more than law? What's the financial prospect like? If it's not so great I'm thinking that I could at least just do it for awhile to earn a living while I search for alternative career, but if it's decent I might just stick to it. 

Being a notary just seems a lot more passive than being a lawyer. To be honest my personality is not at all suitable for being a lawyer who generally needs to be assertive and dominant, good at socializing etc. I'm much more of a bookish person and I would prefer staying in an office and stamping documents - even though it's a lot less intellectually challenging and stimulating than being a lawyer - than going to court and argue in front of a judge etc (I know that only some lawyers do that but I don't like working in a big law firm either). My personality kinda bars me from getting good articling positions in the big law firms as well so I might just do the Law training program to get over with the LSUC requirement.