SB4207

In need of advice. To be or not to be?

Hello Everyone,

I am looking for advice from people currently in law school or who have recently entered the legal field. Here is a little bit of back story. I graduated from university 4 years ago with an 87% average in an arts program. In the year following I studied for the lsat while working in the banking sector. I scored a 165 and was eager to start applying for schools. However, while working on my applications I was offered a promotion and a large raise at the bank that I worked at. I took the new job and have since then moved even higher up on the corporate ladder. Right now I have a solid career and make a very comfortable living (85k/year, bonuses, 4wk paid vacation, and benefits). However, if I continue on my current path I will fail to fulfill my dream of practicing law (it is something I always wanted to do and I feel like a sellout). Put in my position would you give it up and go to law school? I am only asking now because next year will be the last year that my lsat score is valid for admission. 

I would not give it up to go to law school. That's a solid career, great work-life balance, good pay, more vacation than you'd hope to get for years in law, and at a very early age.  

• Like 2

2 minutes ago, whoknows said:

I would not give it up to go to law school. That's a solid career, great work-life balance, good pay, more vacation than you'd hope to get for years in law, and at a very early age.  

Thank you. That is what I am struggling with. One of my friends is a recent UBC grad working 80hrs a week in Vancouver making slightly more than me (I live in a smaller town thought so may paycheque goes farther) and looking at her situation I really appreciate what I currently have. However, I feel unfulfilled by my current line of work. I feel as though law is a noble pursuit worthy of one's time and energy while what I do it not. 

7 minutes ago, Luckycharm said: