AJD19

Turning 30 in 1L

So I will be turning 30 a few weeks into 1L and have been feeling a little anxious about this lately. I do not have any kids, nor do I want any so I wont have some of the extra commitments other mature students might have. I also havent been out of university for an extended period of time. I graduated in 2016 but went back 2016/2017 to boost my GPA. Is there generally a fair amount of people in their late 20's starting law school? Could my age be an issue when seeking summer/articling positions? Any insight would be much appreciated. Thanks. 

Edited by AJD19

This will only be an issue if you make it one. It is very unlikely you will be the oldest in your class, and quite likely there will be others around your age. The largest contingent of the class will probably be a few years younger than you. 

• Like 1

I’m 31 and hoping to start law school when I’m 33. So if you’re feeling anxious about your age I’m ancient lol 

Although I at times do feel that I’m old lol

• Like 1

I did it. I had a great party with all of my new friends. I also got a job, and my age did not seem to affect me negatively in the slightest.

• Like 1

I know how you feel. I just turned 32 and hopefully I get accepted this cycle. I spent years in the labor force and just finished my undergrad last year. I made lots of great friends in undergrad and never felt any ostricization from people who were 8 - 9 years younger than me. I assume law school will be similar. 

• Like 2

I was accepted for this cycle and I'll be turning 30 before the school year starts. You're not alone, OP! I'm sure that there will be plenty of people around the same age and a handful that are even older.

turned 34 in 1L.  Don't fret. Just get used to being friends with people a decade behind you. 

• Like 1

21 minutes ago, machine said:

turned 34 in 1L.  Don't fret. Just get used to being friends with people a decade behind you.