Sign in to follow this  
strugglingSFUgal

Tips for Studying Alongside School?

Hi all,

I've decided to start slowly studying for the July LSAT. Any tips on studying during school? I am taking 4 classes and working on average 15-20 hours per week. I have ordered the Powerscore bibles, but was wondering if any of you have pacing tips? (When do you suggest I should finish reading the bibles, how many hours ish should I put in per week? How many PTs should I aim for per month?) My studying will pick up the pace in April after finals fyi.

Anything is appreciated!

Edited by strugglingSFUgal

Hi!

I studied for the LSAT while working full-time and going to school part time. It's challenging but definitely doable. I would start first and foremost by taking a diagnostic. Find out where you are and how much time you need to dedicate to each section. Once you've done that, planning your studying around school and work will be much easier. I also find it helps to understand what your weakest sections are and focus on studying those.  I wouldn't worry so much about deadlines - i.e. when you should have the bibles read, and more so on practicing and understanding the formulas for each type of question. Do lots of timed practice tests (I would say at least once a week if you can swing it) and try to mimic the test environment each time.  Good luck! and don't spread yourself too thin! If you don't feel ready, don't write yet.  Give your self more time to study. 

• Like 1

I really like the 7Sage course for the analytics throughout as you start testing more! As you do more tests and feed the analytics you'll get a much better and accurate idea of what you're actual strengths and weaknesses are. You might be surprised. Some question types you may not be confident answering but you might be surprised your accuracy on those question types. And it was cheaper than the Powerscore books for the six month subscription. Just my thoughts and pm me if you got any LSAT questions.