Sign in to follow this  
Aspiringlawyer1

Information required

Hey guys,

I am a new PR to Canada. I came in 2014 as an international student and just achieved permanent status. I wanna be a lawyer and from what i seen so far, there aren't enough lawyers available for criminal practice and that's where my interest with the law lies. I wanna practice criminal and some form of corporate law. Now I didn't understand few things like how come lawyers are practicing in New York ? As a Canadian citizen you only get 6 months of work permit to work in us but after that you would need a work permit from an employer. How good is the market for law students in general ? Do every student find work or they work in field completely different from law ? 

Background: I have an engineering degree from another country and did post graduate diploma from Confederation college. I am looking at MBA/Law. 

Any suggestions will be appreciated. 

1 hour ago, Aspiringlawyer1 said:

Northeast ON

Northeastern Ontario consists of the districts of AlgomaSudburyCochraneTimiskamingNipissing and Manitoulin. For some purposes, Parry Sound District and Muskoka District Municipality are treated as part of Northeastern Ontario although they are geographically in Central Ontario

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/sudbury/northeast-cities-macleans-dangerous-list-1.4897015

You could be right

5 hours ago, Aspiringlawyer1 said:

Now I didn't understand few things like how come lawyers are practicing in New York ?

NY is a very high-paying market and a very small proportion of Ontario lawyers will emigrate to practice there.

Under NAFTA, Canadian lawyers can get a three-year renewable work visa for the US. I suspect that's what many of them are doing.

Most Ontario law graduates will find jobs practicing law in Ontario. Many others will go into other occupations (often law-adjacent) either by choice or because of difficulty finding a job that meets their needs/preferences.