javathehut

McGill vs U of T - business & commercial law

I'm fortunate to have received offers of admission from my top two Canadian choices - McGill and the Univeristy of Toronto, but I'm really struggling to decide which of the two will be a better long term choice for me. 

My context: 

• I'm a mature student with work experience that is relevant to and has inspired an early interest in commerical and business law, though I recognize that interests can and do evolve over the course of one's degree.  
  • Because I've had time to work and save up money, I'm reasonably certain that I won't get much or anything in the way of financial assistance from either university (although I understand this could change for UofT in years 2 and 3 after I've burnt through my savings). 
  • I'm currently living in Ontario but not particularly attached to either Montreal or Toronto; that said, I do expect to practice in Toronto given the size of the legal market and my interests and language profile. It's also where I have a nascent network in the legal and business community that I hope to leverage during and after my studies.

McGill: 

• In a word, the value proposition for McGill for me comes down to money. It's just a heck of a lot cheaper, even as an out of province student paying sticker, than UofT. When you take rent into consideration, this becomes even more the case. 
  • That said, I do weigh the opportunity cost of the additional half year of study that the McGill degrees require against the savings in tuition (yes, I know the degree can be done in 3 years, but everything I've heard from students there would seem to caution against this approach). 
  • I was accepted to McGill without any French interview, but I'm concerned that my language skills still won't be strong enough for me to excel at McGill. My French is OK but not great, by which I mean I can hold a conversation and get through a news article even if I have to guess at a few words.