LosingMoses

Discussions on Reddit?

I am very new to this discussion board, so I might be missing something, but is there any reason why folks are not having these discussions on Reddit? Personally I find Reddit a lot more convenient to use, particularly because of the upvote/downvote system (allows one to easily identify the best answer to a question and ignore misleading answers - very important for contentious topics such as law school admissions). 

There are LSAT, law school admissions and law school subreddits but they're pretty much all US-centric.

The utility of the forum is the ability to categorize posts in a way you can't do on reddit. 

• Like 6

The categorization of schools & canadian centric content make this forum indispensable in terms of value for me.

Even if the content was on reddit, I don't think it could be categorized in such a manner to make is as useful as it is here.. 

• Like 1

Posted (edited)

I don't know if Reddit would be better, especially due to limitations arising from the nature of a subreddit. But the main reason this is THE place for Canadian law students is that it was  ~first (atleast relatively?). 

Once you get people somewhere and that place becomes known for that one thing, it shouldnt/can't really change. This site has existed for a long time and has a history of being the place for Canadian law students. 

For example, in the us, after a shady new owner drove users away from the toplawschools forum (used to be very popular), the new lawschool.life that was created by the same mods has struggled to maintain a similar level of activity. Some regular users went to the new site but most people don't even know it exists and so either go on Reddit or don't go on any site because toplawschools is no longer popping. 

Another big factor is the content. There is a decades worth of information on this forum for prospective students. You just can't get that on Reddit.