amarac

Are undergraduate law programs helpful for law school?

I just finished my first semester of my undergrad degree. I'm interested in going to law school later on, but was told by someone that it's a bad idea to major in law for a BA because law schools look down on it and look for more diversity.

I am currently majoring in a subject I am kind of interested in but am not sure I want to pursue. I took a law course as an elective this past semester and found it really interesting. My university (Carleton) offers a law BA program and I am considering trying to switch into it, but am worried it could have an impact on me getting into law school later. Is it true that law schools see a law BA as a negative? I am also wondering - people who have a BA in law (from Carleton or elsewhere) was it helpful in law school? Thanks

29 minutes ago, amarac said:

I am also wondering - people who have a BA in law (from Carleton or elsewhere) was it helpful in law school? Thanks

I didn't do a law BA, but I took a bunch (about 8 ) undergrad law classes.  They're useless.  Sure, I had a bit of background knowledge on Morgentaler, Bedford, knew some division of power stuff and learned a bit about negligence, which helped for the first 15 mins those topics were discussed in class but everything was new beyond that.  So, effectively, they helped for about 45 minutes of constitutional this semester, 15 minutes of criminal, and were no help at all in property, torts, and contracts. 

Take it if it interests you and you can do well, but don't do it only if you think it'll give you some sort of advantage in 1L or beyond. 

Edited by Shankar
  • Like 5