Sign in to follow this  
suuuperconfused98

Will US schools see a higher GPA than Canadian ones?

I'm currently studying in Canada and was trying to gauge my chances of getting in to different law schools in North America and everything I am reading online makes it look like my GPA would be way higher when applying to schools in the US. At University of Toronto and a bunch of other law schools in Canada they use the following conversion table:

https://www.ouac.on.ca/guide/olsas-conversion-table/

Putting my grades into that I would have a cGPA of about 3.87 when I'll be applying which is right at the 50th percentile at U of T.

However, I have seen that in the United States they take the letter grade that shows on our transcript and use the following table to convert it.

https://www.lsac.org/applying-law-school/jd-application-process/jd-application-requirements/academic-record#grade-table

This would give me a GPA of 4.0 or 4.1 when I apply, which is above Harvard's 75th percentile. This seems really weird to me.

Granted, the top US law schools have higher LSAT scores and Canadian schools focus more on GPA. However I still feel like my gpa is inflated. Is it easier to get higher grades in US undergraduate programs or something? Do top law schools in the US not compare Canadian transcripts very closely with American ones?

I would really appreciate it if anyone in here with relevant experience could clear things up.

It’s not easy to get higher grades at good US schools (I did my undergrad in the US and I would say it was more competitive and required more work than law school.) 

Yes, your LSAC GPA will likely be higher than your OLSAS GPA. Although, if you were graded with percentages in any post-secondary courses (like many Canadian institutions use), your LSAC GPA will likely be much lower than OLSAS. 

You can use this to see how your school's grades will be converted. https://members.lsac.org/MenuItems/IGUGS/IGUGS-Search.aspx