LamerFan99

Taking both LSO exams in the same month. Good idea or worst decision of my life?

Hey there everyone,

I’m a student at Université de Montréal and will be graduating in June with a dual civil/common law degree and would like to take the LSO bar exam. I plan on taking my Quebec bar exam in December 2019 (I have an articling position for January 2020 in Montreal). Therefore, I’d like to take both Ontario exams in June 2019 in order to get them out of the way right off the bat. The consensus online seems to be that taking one exam in June and another in the following month of November was the optimal scenario. However, I was wondering if any of you had been in the same situation and survived the 2 LSO/LSUC exams following your graduation from law school?

TL;DR – Is 1 month (and a bit) enough time to effectively study for BOTH LSO exams or is it suicidal?

Thanks!

3 hours ago, LamerFan99 said:

Hey there everyone,

I’m a student at Université de Montréal and will be graduating in June with a dual civil/common law degree and would like to take the LSO bar exam. I plan on taking my Quebec bar exam in December 2019 (I have an articling position for January 2020 in Montreal). Therefore, I’d like to take both Ontario exams in June 2019 in order to get them out of the way right off the bat. The consensus online seems to be that taking one exam in June and another in the following month of November was the optimal scenario. However, I was wondering if any of you had been in the same situation and survived the 2 LSO/LSUC exams following your graduation from law school?

TL;DR – Is 1 month (and a bit) enough time to effectively study for BOTH LSO exams or is it suicidal?

Thanks!

If you're in Ontario the normal course is to take them two weeks apart.