Sign in to follow this  
hellofuturejdhopeful

Personal Statement help

Hey all,

I have been working on my personal statements for two months now, and I'm still finding that its not all that great... Am i the only one who takes this long or has anyone else found the PS to be the hardest part of the application?!

15 minutes ago, hellofuturejdhopeful said:

Hey all,

I have been working on my personal statements for two months now, and I'm still finding that its not all that great... Am i the only one who takes this long or has anyone else found the PS to be the hardest part of the application?!

They are hard !! I'm currently sitting here editing and re-editing ones I have already looked over a trillion times.... You're not the only one :)

• Like 1

I've literally had like 10 drafts of my UofT PS so far and I'm spending all week on the Osgoode ones. So so much work.

For a variety of perspectives on this question, see this topic:

I agree with those who warn against spending too much time on your personal statement. Your statement doesn't have to be perfect, and it's probably not as important as your GPA or LSAT score. After a certain point, the time you spend working on your statement would be better spent on other things.

As for me, I worked on my statement a little bit at a time, with a few days between each session. The whole process took about two weeks. Rereading my statement now after all these years, I would say it's not perfect. But I got into law school.

• Like 1

oh my god, I felt this post in my soul. Good luck to everyone, I'm in the exact same boat. We'll get through it one way or another!

• Like 1