ellenpm

McGill application for 2019

Hi there,

I'm just wanting some general advice for my McGill application. I graduated from Dal this May with a 3.79 CGPA, honours, and volunteer work at the Halifax Legal Aid clinic. I'm applying to McGill for 2019, I'm taking the LSAT in December - currently testing at a 150 which is making me really nervous. However, I think with a solid personal statement I might still stand a chance for entry. Right now I'm writing my personal statement about the ways in which the law has intersected in my life and how that made me interested in localized issues of poverty and inequalities. Anyway - super stressed so any advice would be appreciated...

Unless you're consistently testing above 160 as an average of your scores over a decent sample size, don't write the lsat in December. Tbey average lsats so you can't just rewrite and do better (assuming you do). You don't need to and your GPA is strong enough without it (assuming other requirements are also strong enough).

Obviously keep studying for the lsat - especially games since score jumps are most often seen in that section. But don't write unless you get your preptesting scores up.

Edited by pzabbythesecond

Hey Ellenpm,

I would tend to agree with pzabbythesecond. If McGill is the only school you are planning on applying to then my personal suggestion would be to proceed with great caution regarding the LSAT at this point if you are looking for the most attractive way to present your application. I'm not sure how your GPA converts into a 4.0 scale, but a 3.79 is very impressive on face value and it sounds like you have some great additional extracurriculars to bolster your application as well.