Sign in to follow this  
ChristianAZ

What are my chances of getting into any law school? [3.16]

Hi, 

So I didn't bother applying for September 2018 for the following reason:

My overall CGPA is about 3.16/4 and GPA for the last two years of my undergrad is 3.41/4/ 3.39/4 (Roughly). I know your average changes depending on what school you apply to but that's roughly what I got when I calculated my average. Also, what LSAT score should I aim for to get admitted? What school should I apply to? I live in Toronto. At this point, I'm considering applying in the U.K, but I want to at least try to apply and write the LSAT in December. 

Any information and advice would be appreciated considering I'm a newbie LOL.

Thanks, 

Christian 

You should aim for 180; there's no point trying to leave points on the table.

What kind of LSAT would make you competitive depends on the school you're applying to. Some want cGPA. Some want the two most recent years. Some want the best two years. Some will drop the worst credits wherever they are in your transcript. The last of those is pretty much best for everyone, the rest can dramatically change what your GPA is calculated at.

For what it's worth, 3.4 is a GPA with which a lot of people can get into law schools. It might not be their first preferences, but you asked about 'any'. Get an LSAT in the mid 160s and depending on where your GPA falls out in various calculations, and how serious you are about 'any' you may be competitive at a number of schools.