ghoulzrulez

First trial tips?

I am an articling student who will be taking the lead on a small claims court trial early next week (Ontario). This is my first time leading a trial. Though I feel fairly prepared, I'm wondering if anyone has any practical tips for things to do or to avoid, and for how to make this go as smoothly as possible?

The very best way to prepare for a trial is to draft your closing submissions. You will lay out every single detail you want the court to consider. You will point out why they shouldn’t go with the other guy’s submissions. You will refer to the law and why it’s on your side. You will fairly cite the relevant cases and distinguish the ones not in your favour. Give your closing out loud to your cat or your mirror or your friend or your mom. Enjoy the delivery - this is the high point, the bit we all love.

Once you have your closing, if you’ve done it right, you’re looking a beautiful wall of logic and persuasion. 

...Now go BACK to your trial prep,and make sure you have figured out how to get every single brick in that wall. 

• Like 8

While I only practice law PT, I like small claims work including when it goes to trial so I'm a bit more active in this area (but still, don't rely on anything I write! :rolleyes:) And many years ago, I did a small claims trial while articling and so have fond memories (other side represented by a lawyer, and we agreed on joint submissions re expert evidence, and my client won).