S8232

Thoughts on a UK LLB (accelerated) paired with a BSc (Hon) + MSc Microbiology in Canada

Hi there,

This may have been beaten to death in previous threads, and from what I gather, I should be prepared to suffer if I'm doing an LLB from the UK... But what I'm wondering is whether I would encounter the same difficulties or less resistance when coming with a science background? I'm told that there is a market for IP lawyers with an aptitude for science (please correct me if I've been misinformed), and since I have a BSc and an MSc in Microbiology & Immunology from a top-tier Canadian University, I figure I may have skills that make me more marketable when returning to Canada to practice law. For those with a similar background, or experience with returning to Canada after a UK-acquired LLB, would my education increase my chances of acquiring an articling position, or provide me with any additional advantage in a competitive niche? Other experiences include several publications at time of graduation across different disciplines, including Microbiology, Kinesiology, Dentistry. 

A little more information if you're wondering why I am hesitant about applying in Canada: 

My undergraduate grades are mediocre (~3.3 cGPA). I haven't taken a swing at the LSAT (would prefer to start as soon as possible; I'd have to consider study time/writing/applications, meaning I wouldn't be able to start until earliest 2020). Thoughts on whether I should consider Canadian law schools are also appreciated -- i.e., do I have shot? and if so, which schools would you recommend. 

Please be advised that I am not naive; I realize that grades in the UK are second to nothing, that extracurriculars are important, and that the NCA exams are not easy and will take an additional year. Just looking for some advice to my own unique situation. 

Thanks!

It might give you a slight edge at two or three places, but it won’t overcome a foreign degree.