Pythia

Clerkship at the Ontario Superior Court

I'm interested in applying for a clerkship at the ONSC, but I'm wondering whether my grades are up to snuff. I have roughly a 3.3 at Queens out of 1L. Is this competitive for a clerkship? What kind of grades out of Queen's would you need to be competitive?

I'm not an expert on clerkships, but I'm fairly sure a B+ average would at least get you interviews as long as your writing sample and references were fine.

2 minutes ago, providence said:

Seems on the low side, especially for Queens where the curve is high.

Queen's does not curve high. 1L curve is a B, like every other law school.

5 minutes ago, providence said:

Seems on the low side, especially for Queens where the curve is high.

Yes, this is my fear as well. I am hoping my 2L first semester marks will subvene me, but who knows if I'll be able to improve.

4 minutes ago, thegoodlaw said:

Queen's does not curve high. 1L curve is a B, like every other law school.

Well, the curve might still be to a B, but if I understand other law schools' grading systems correctly, then Queens almost certainly has fewer student in the sub B- range and more students in the over B+ range. 

33 minutes ago, Pythia said:

Yes, this is my fear as well. I am hoping my 2L first semester marks will subvene me, but who knows if I'll be able to improve.

Well, the curve might still be to a B, but if I understand other law schools' grading systems correctly, then Queens almost certainly has fewer student in the sub B- range and more students in the over B+ range. 

Well, the distribution of grades is such that it is quite tightly packed in the B region, but that can have the effect of reducing the number of As awarded. Is there another school's breakdown you're comparing this to?