Sign in to follow this  
SiDtHeKiD

Honest Opinions Needed

Hello Everyone,

I’m a 3rd year student at University of Lethbridge doing a Bachelors in Management. Major is Finance. I got 10 courses left in my degree.

my CGPA right now is 3.13. And with the trajectory of no distractions and no other things happening, I should end up with a CGPA of 3.2-3.3 or 3.3-3.4 in my last 20 courses.

I have been working to support myself and my family since I was 14. Taking school full-time and part-time at times to balance the workload.

Been working full-time since 2015 while going to school. Been through 3 family tragedies in the last 3 years which had an impact on my grades.

But the plus side is, they also played a role in shaping my mind to become a Lawyer. For the last couple of semesters I have been more motivated than ever to make something of myself and prove that my parents’ sacrifice of coming here in 2008 and leaving everything behind was worth it!

I have done some volunteer work, not alot as school and work wouldnt give me much time. But I’m open to do anything to get into good schools.

I have taken the practise LSAT tests and have scored between 162-167.

I am very new to the application process and am still trying to figure out even the type of law I want to practise and would love if someone could tell me what my chances are to get into schools like UofA, UofO, Osgoode, McGill, UBC, Dalhousie etc.

Also, please tell me how to make my application stronger as a candidate. Any advice will work!

I would say that your cGPA unfortunately makes your chances extremely slim to none for all of those schools as a regular applicant. This is based entirely on what I know about Canadian law school admissions as a recent applicant, for the record.