breakaleg

Another chances post.. 3.6/167 + life exp

Posted (edited)

Hi all! Feeling a lot of anxiety, hopefully, posting/feedback will help? 

I did a science (BMSc (Honours) from Western) degree. Did really well in my first two years (3.8/9), wrote my lsat, got 167.

Then got into a pedestrian vehicle accident with a pickup truck. My right leg snapped in half. Needless to say, it kind of derailed my life and my mental health. Instead of taking a year off to heal, I went back to school with a lower course load (still a fulltime student). But my mental health suffered and my grades weren't great in third and fourth year. I pushed through and decided to finish school instead of taking time off. I probably could have done much better if I had taken a few years.

My cGPA is 3.6 (T2=3.81, T3=3.74). I'm hoping to apply to Osgoode, U of T, Western, and Ottawa. In terms of extracurriculars, I was really involved with student government, theatre, and charity organizations.

I was also diagnosed with PTSD after my accident and put on antidepressants/did therapy, is this something I should withhold from admissions? I'm coming off the antidepressants now and will be entirely off by August. I'm doing a one year masters degree in communications from Ryerson this fall. To be honest, am definitely debating whether I want to do law or go into communications, but I think I would like to still pursue law school for a number of reasons (that I won't go into here). 

Any and all advice would be appreciated! Re: PTSD, whether re-writing the LSAT is worth the slight improvement, whether it's even worth applying to law school with my stats, how much to share about my life experiences? 

Edited by breakaleg

First of all, my condolences about that accident, it sounds like you're doing better, which is great.

Secondly, your stats are very competitive, particularly your B2. I recommend against redoing the LSAT, you don't need to.