Sign in to follow this  
ES1

USask vs Dalhousie vs TRU

I'm leaning heavily towards TRU right now. Quality of life wise, I really like the idea of living in a place like Kamloops and its in close proximity to family and friends.

Are there any reasons I should reconsider ? I've been hearing some things from a few people about how TRU is looked at and the difficulty grads apparently have getting into top-tier Vancouver firms. 

What are the implications of your choice of school on career trajectory, articling placement etc ? 

I'd go to Sask or Dal because they are more established schools. I went to Dal and really liked it. I feel like there were a lot of students from Van/BC when I was there, and they all seemed to land jobs.

If you are planning in practicing in BC, go to TRU.  I'm currently a student there and the school has done an amazing job in a short period of time setting up connections with big Vancouver law firms. If what I have been told by various professors here is true we have some of the best articling rates as well as a very high percentage of success with OCIs in Vancouver firms. 

• Like 1

5 hours ago, conge said:

I'd go to Sask or Dal because they are more established schools. I went to Dal and really liked it. I feel like there were a lot of students from Van/BC when I was there, and they all seemed to land jobs.

Can you expand on the tangible benefits of "being more established." I get that TRU is newer, but what (if any) is the actual downside to that in terms of education, earnings, jobs etc? I had the initial reaction to "play it safe" and go to one of the older ones too, but I'm trying to be a bit more analytical than that now. 

23 minutes ago, lawstudent20202020 said: