sansasnark

Deciding not to article?

Posted (edited)

Hi all,

I am a recent graduate who has not yet secured an articling position. However, I’m also someone who doesn’t know if they want to article in the first place. I have been actively seeking articles since the recruitment process last summer, and though I’ve gotten interviews, I haven’t progressed beyond that. (My grades are about a B average, with 2 C+s and 2 As.) The reason I have been applying, despite my uncertainty, is because it seems like a waste to have gone to law school without articling afterwards.

I nearly left law school after first year, coming to the realization that perhaps this wasn’t the field for me. Someone persuaded me to stick it out, so I did. I got a 2L law-related position, which I enjoyed well enough. But during 2L and 3L, I came to the conclusion that I could not see myself being a lawyer for the long term, and that my career would probably go elsewhere eventually.

Hindsight has shown me that I went to law school for the wrong reason. It’s (obviously) too late to fix that now, but I’m still struggling with the decision to step out of law altogether. It feels wasteful to spend the money and time in law school without articling, regardless of my feelings about law in general. But I’m not especially interested in doing so at the same time. And perhaps it would be disingenuous to take a position when I know I don’t plan to stick around.

So, like I said, I feel stuck -- sunk costs and all that. Do I keep applying to positions as they come up? Do I let it go?

I know this is largely a personal decision, but any advice or anecdotes would still be appreciated. Thanks :)

Edited by sansasnark

I would apply to jobs that sound interesting and rewarding to you.  If some/all/none of those are articling positions - great.

I didn't find law school and the practice of law very similar at all, but it depends on what you end up doing within (or outside) law.