AshCatchem

Questions about 1L (Residence, Community, Transfers)

Hi everyone, 

To all who have lived on the Grad House residence! I have been accepted to the College for Fall 2018/19 and will be moving from BC to Sask. I have currently applied to the Graduate House and have reserved a studio unit but have a few questions about residence in general as it is my first time living alone/on campus. 

1) Regarding the units:

• It seems that the description insinuates that there is no fridge. FAQ section indicates that mini fridges are permitted. However, I also see pictures listed online that there appears to be a larger kitchen (probably communal) that do have double fridges. (asking only because I would like to eat foods other than non-perishable ones that could be stored in my unit easily lol) Are we allowed to use these communal kitchens? Is there a communal kitchen on each floor or just one for the entire building? 
  • Also noticed that the pictures depict small appliances (toasters, small water kettle, etc.), are these provided with the unit? 
  • For the bed, are pillows and blankets provided? 

2) How were your experiences with living on Grad House? 

3) How is the community like? Also, exactly how cold does it get... (from a BC resident who can barely deal with the winters here, I am a bit concerned). 

4) I also have thoughts about transferring but I note that a few previous threads have indicated, in terms of building friendships during 1L, I would be at a disadvantage for friend groups in 2L if I were to successfully transfer. Has anyone had any experience with this? 

Thank you all! :)

On 6/13/2018 at 12:01 PM, AshCatchem said:

Hi everyone,