Sign in to follow this  
pele24

Securities law

Hi everyone,

Can anyone comment on securities law practice please? What do you like/not like in this area of law? 

Thanks 

• Like 1

I graduated out of law school wanting to be a securities lawyer.  I won the award for the highest mark in my 3rd year securities law course.  I got an articling job where my principal was a securities lawyer.

It was dreadfully boring work.  Merely bragging about the size of the deal you worked on didn't make it any more interesting.

I asked to be hired back as a litigation lawyer, and was.  Three years and a couple of jobs later I started at the Crown's office and haven't looked back.

Obviously this is only one man's perspective, and securities law will get slightly more interesting as you move up from being an articling student.  You asked for opinions and now you have one.  I'd welcome hearing from those who do enjoy a securities law practice.

• Like 3

I'm not a securities lawyer, but I've worked closely with a variety of them over my career and my practice always intersected with theirs. So I can at least give you an informed overview.

It's an enormously diverse practice on a number of dimensions. So it's hard to generalize. How interesting it is will depend on your clients, the type of work, your own personality and aptitudes. 

It can entail advisory (solicitor) work or enforcement and litigation work. The latter is often quite interesting because, securities Disputes typically involve a lot of money, so clients are willing to hire clever lawyers willing to pursue creative and innovative arguments. Over the course of my career I've had peripheral involvement in, or connection with, some very high profile security law fights - even to a non-securities lawyer, they were anything but boring.