Sign in to follow this  
woodyhey

Job Types on Bay St.

I'm in my first year and as of right now, I would love to work at a corporate, downtown Toronto firm.  I'm just curious as to what the split is between lawyers practicing litigation as opposed to solicitor, more transaction type law? Additionally, are there areas of law which have a larger concentration of lawyers (e.g. tax, securities)? 

Obviously, my preference will be informed by what I enjoy doing but any advice would be helpful in determining questions like whether to be involved in a moot etc.  

14 minutes ago, woodyhey said:

First year if law school at uOttawa.  I'm just thinking ahead to when I graduate...

If Bay Street is your goal, you really should have been exploring those avenues this year so you can make an informed decision next year during OCIs. You likely won't have the chance to participate in any moots prior to November next year. 

A good place to start is by checking out each firm's NALP page: https://www.nalpcanada.com. While most firms purport to be "full-service", the NALP profiles give you a breakdown of how many lawyers practice in each department.

Overgeneralizing here, but the largest headcount groups in Bay St firms are usually corporate/commercial, banking & financial services, commercial litigation, securities  and other practices where you need to throw a lot of bodies at files. Typically smaller groups would be practices like real estate, tax, competition, labour and employment and IP. The smallest groups may only consist of a handful of partners in areas like environmental, municipal, immigration, aboriginal law, entertainment. Differs firm by firm and what they choose to focus on of course. 

Edited by OzStudent

52 minutes ago, woodyhey said: