Sign in to follow this  
GoatMilk45

Chances of Lschool ?

I'll be blunt. My grades are terrible. I have a terrible GPA (2.1). I am in my third year of undergrad (3 semesters left). 

My questions are

1.what are the odds i get into law school if i do manage to turn it around say (3.5 + GPA) 

2. Obviously, my GPA is going to hurt me in applications, so what are some other things (Besides getting a high LSAT) that i can do to help my chances.

Thanks.

Edited by GoatMilk45
Fixing errors

I appreciate your bluntness and will return the favour. You have basically no shot anywhere in Canada. You will probably need at least a 3.9 this semester and a 3.9 next year, coupled with a 170+ LSAT. Even then, you are a long shot. 

Edited by Nabbo
  • Like 2

Are there any extenuating circumstaces that caused your grades to suffer? If so, you can try to apply under access categories.

In addition, what are you third year marks like? What do you predict your sessional GPA to be? If it's good, and you do well in your fourth year, you can apply for L2 schools like Queens. If it's bad, you can take a fifth year and if you do well in your last two years , it can also help you be competitive for L2 schools.

However, both of these routes are contingent on you having an LSAT that is 165+.

**Note: You should be very careful banking on schools that look at L2 because you never know when they might decide to change their admissions criteria. Queens just started looking at L2 exclusively this year, but this may not be the case when you decide to apply**

Edited by david2234
  • Like 1

I agree with David 2234s advice 

You will not have a chance at any cgpa schools, almost all of the schools.in Canada