Sign in to follow this  
WilliamFaulkner

American (Dual Citizen) Prospective Applicant

Hey y'all --

3.9x, 169 LSAT applicant thinking about making a life up north because... America. 

A few quick questions that are probably googleable, but forgive me:

1) Are there portable degrees in Canada? In America, graduates from the Top 14 law schools are sought by employers nationally. Is that so in Canada, and if so which schools qualify?

2) Explain articling to me like I am 5.

3) What do gunners go after in Canada? Big law, clerkships, same as America?

Go Oilers!

Hello! 

1. I'm a total noob but as far as I understand it, law in Canada is very regional - essentially you go where you want to practice. If you want to work in Vancouver, go to UBC. If you want to work in Toronto, go to a good school in Ontario. If you want to go do global NGO type things, go to McGill (and be sure to brush up on your French!). 

University of Toronto is quite prestigious in Canada and has an especially "portable", as you put it, degree - if you have no idea where in Canada you want to work then U of T is the best place for you to get anywhere that you want. Also, if you ever feel homesick, NYC firms OCI at U of T and approximately the top 10% of U of T students go do their articling (and work for some years) in the US. Also all Ontario JDs allow you to write the New York, California and Massachusetts bar exams straightaway. 

2. Articling is a period of time after you graduate law school where you essentially act as an apprentice (see: padawan) in a law firm for 10 months, where you're essentially trained by veteran lawyers how to apply all that you've learned in law school to actual work. Here is a good explanation of it: https://www.lsuc.on.ca/articling/