Sign in to follow this  
bhaywardio

Factors Other Than CGPA/LSAT?

Does anyone have any insight as to the weight law schools place on things such as;

- where your undergrad took place?

- how long you were there?

- the amount of credits/type of degree?

For example, I graduated from college and transferred 45 credits into my 4 year undergraduate degree. Will law schools count this as a negative aspect of my application? 

From what I keep on hearing on the forums here is that law schools don't care what your program was or what school it came from. Just how well you did on the LSAT and your GPA. Plus some schools will take your ECs and refereneces into consideration if they are required on the application.

What I have heard is rare is students in law school who have not completed their undergraduate degree. But that may be a correlation and not causation.

I am just repeating what I have heard around. Feel free to correct me!

Best of luck!

• Like 1

Only UofT explicitly states that they care about your program/course selection as well as your institution(s) you attended. I suspect there's still biases within the admissions council members, but it isn't policy to use those as a basis of comparison (outside of Toronto).

• Like 1

36 minutes ago, RNGesus said:

Only UofT explicitly states that they care about your program/course selection as well as your institution(s) you attended. I suspect there's still biases within the admissions council members, but it isn't policy to use those as a basis of comparison (outside of Toronto).

This is what I figured. Thankfully I have no interest in Toronto

2 hours ago, bhaywardio said:

Does anyone have any insight as to the weight law schools place on things such as;

- where your undergrad took place?

- how long you were there?

- the amount of credits/type of degree?