Sign in to follow this  
iReminisce

Is bilingualism a major asset in law? (GTA area)

Hi all,

I'm currently a 0L looking to get some perspective on the legal job market in Toronto and the rest of the GTA. Specifically, how much does being bilingual in English/French help in landing OCI/articling positions/permanent positions.

I did my undergrad in Ottawa but was originally from Toronto. The limit of my french education was the mandatory curriculum up until grade 9 (I did well... but on paper that's not saying much). Honestly, it was a bit of a culture shock moving a little up north because there's so much emphasis on bilingualism and how it helps in job prospects. I majored in accounting so it wasn't as bad, but I definitely felt like a deer in headlights when conversations would break into french, either in a school/work environment.

Any experiences shared would be appreciated.

55 minutes ago, iReminisce said:

Hi all,

I'm currently a 0L looking to get some perspective on the legal job market in Toronto and the rest of the GTA. Specifically, how much does being bilingual in English/French help in landing OCI/articling positions/permanent positions.

I did my undergrad in Ottawa but was originally from Toronto. The limit of my french education was the mandatory curriculum up until grade 9 (I did well... but on paper that's not saying much). Honestly, it was a bit of a culture shock moving a little up north because there's so much emphasis on bilingualism and how it helps in job prospects. I majored in accounting so it wasn't as bad, but I definitely felt like a deer in headlights when conversations would break into french, either in a school/work environment.

I speak English and French and haven’t found it to be a huge factor. Employers treat it as an asset and it comes in handy with the odd client or piece of statutory interpretation, but I have never had a job where it was required or necessary. It is important if you want to be a judge.

• Like 1