Sign in to follow this  
lazslo93

Mature Student - How much does the LSAT matter? Good resources for Mature applicants?

Just got a 158, which is disappointing because I was PTing around 165. I'm applying very broadly as a 31yo mature student with a B average, but I've spent 5 years out of school working interesting jobs in China, and in Canadian politics, and I have a graduate degree.

I'm debating spending the money on a retake right now, but I can't figure out if the difference between a 158 and a 165 is worth the time and money involved for a retake.  

As a side note, I was curious if there was a good resource or forum somewhere for applying to Canadian law schools as a mature student, useful information has been hard to come by. I've been trying to figure out the weights and averages of LSATs and GPAs for mature students at various schools, and get good descriptions of the kinds of backgrounds that were able to overcome poor GPAs and LSAT scores. I've found a few threads in here but they're usually very school and case specific. A good overview or discussion that would indicate the general parameters for schools' mature student policies would be nice - i.e. don't bother applying to U of T with a GPA below X and LSAT below X, but Western may accept you below those scores if you have an exceptional background. 

The difference between a 165 and 158 is huge for you. You're probably borderline or out at most schools right now. You'd likely be in almost everywhere except U of T with a 165. 

The mature category is more akin to a crapshoot than a strict cut off, so what you're asking for is unlikely to ever exist. 

• Like 1

are there any schools where applying mature with a 150 is guaranteed to be a waste? and i mean, its a hard cut off and they won't even look at anything else in the file. 

On 2017-10-13 at 1:30 AM, contigotravelmug said: