kurian

program information

I am a new immigrant, did my engineering back home.. I am planning on attending law school, I have few questions as I am new in the country and not sure how the law scene here is. To begin with:

1) to practice law, I need to have a JD ? and I have to do a bachelors ?

2) when i look at U of Ottawa,  what should be the programs I should be looking at ? what i see on the website are bachelors of commerce + JD, Bachelors of political science + JD, certificate in law ,.. 

3) I dont have a masters degree, i would ideally want to do a LLM, but that will nt let me practice law unless I hav JD...so I have to re-do my bachelors in the form of LLB + JD ?

well..in these 4 years, i moved to canada and got my permanent residency a month ago and hoping this would help in a lower fee..

now from my post 4 years ago, i know that i need a JD to practice law in canada, i m more keen on u of Ottawa,  for its in the  capitol is my reason..so when i m looking at the programs of U of ottawa, how do students take up here ? just do the JD or bachelors in political science/ commerce or even masters of arts/MBA + JD  for those who have done their under grad already and just need a JD 

This is what you need to apply to the law school.

You apply through the Ontario Law School Application System.

Your engineering degree will count as the bachelors required for entry most likely - you just need to meet the standards for grades and hope you can get in. You need a JD to practice law in Canada (or LLB). It does not need to be from Canada, but if it is outside Canada you have to be accredited.

If you want to practice law in Canada, do not look at the LLM requirements. It does not allow you to become licensed, but there are some people who have JD's from other countries that use LLM programs as equivalencies for accreditation purposes. You don't have a law degree for that yet though, so don't worry about it.