Sign in to follow this  
sucheese

Courses after Undergraduate Degree Conferred

Do Ontario law schools count courses taken after you have graduated from your undergraduate degree? I graduated a few weeks back and was rejected to all of the schools that I applied to. If I take a few courses this upcoming year will they count towards my CGPA and L2 or is that locked in since I graduated. For reference I have a 3.44 cGPA and a 3.7 L2. 

Thanks

Those aren't terrible numbers. What was your LSAT? Since you've graduated you've obviously got a lot of courses under your belt. Any extra, even if you get A+s would barely make a dent in your CGPA. Furthermore, you've stated that you want to take "a few courses". That wouldn't affect your L2 since by a few, I assume you mean not 30 credits worth. It would be wiser to focus on raising your LSAT score. 

Your cGPA and L2 are almost identical to mine. I considered taking additional courses to boost my GPA as well, but I have to agree with the advice above; it will be a much better use of your time to focus on raising your LSAT.

• Like 1

It seems like everyone agrees that you should be fine, but I wish someone could answer the question of its counted or not for you........I know the LSAC in the US tends not to.

26 minutes ago, 0joe said:

It seems like everyone agrees that you should be fine, but I wish someone could answer the question of its counted or not for you........I know the LSAC in the US tends not to.

Many (most?) will count courses taken after your first degree. If you're taking random courses post-grad in order to boost your GPA, I think you'll be able to count one year as a special student - not too sure about taking random courses to boost your GPA. If you're taking a second degree, many schools will consider your grades, including the following (there's probably more, but these are the ones I contacted personally and somewhat remember the details for): 

UofAlberta (last 2 years/60 credits)