Sign in to follow this  
mbenn

Western or Queens?? (placement rates)

Hi, I know this thread has been created before and I have looked through all of that already. I am looking for any opinions on which school has better placement rates with respect to jobs and articling positions. My biggest deciding factor is to go to whichever school will help me get the best job. 

I am interested in Business Law but also want to be able to practice law in NY - does either school have a tie to American legal studies? Or classes that help you to prepare for the NY State Bar? Or do most graduates stay in Ontario (Bay St)?

Any insights are much appreciated! Thanks!

Why would Canadian schools have classes that help you to prepare for the NY State Bar? That would be Barbri.

Both are good schools. Both place well. All Canadian common law schools allow you to write the NY bar.

• Like 3

Now that I'm a law student I just want to apologize to all members of ls.ca for starting a Queen's vs. Western thread around this time last year.

• Like 6

43 minutes ago, mbenn said:

Hi, I know this thread has been created before and I have looked through all of that already. I am looking for any opinions on which school has better placement rates with respect to jobs and articling positions. My biggest deciding factor is to go to whichever school will help me get the best job. 

I am interested in Business Law but also want to be able to practice law in NY - does either school have a tie to American legal studies? Or classes that help you to prepare for the NY State Bar? Or do most graduates stay in Ontario (Bay St)?

Any insights are much appreciated! Thanks!

Caveat: law school (Queen's!) years ago, called in NY but never any real interest in working there.