Sign in to follow this  
westbythesea

I have a low GPA. What do you think of my ideas to get into Law school?

Hello! Here is my situation:

In 2010, I left Simon Fraser University after my second year of study for a 4-year career working as a magazine editor. At the time, I had no interest in a graduate program and I didn't perform well in school. I also have some WEC's (withdrawal under extenuating circumstances) on my transcript due to family problems. Between 2014 and now, I've been taking 3-4 courses per semester to graduate. My grades have significantly improved and demonstrate consistancy.

I will graduate in Aug 2017 at the age of 29 with a GPA of approximately 3.2. My L2 is around 3.5. My degree is a Bachelor of Arts with a Major in Communications and a Minor in Sociology. I haven't written my LSAT yet, so I cannot report my LSAT score. For the purpose of this thread, let's assume I score over 155. I understand that with my GPA, a high LSAT score will give me a sliver of a chance for entry into a Canadian law school. Naturally, I would prefer a top school.

I have brainstormed the following ideas to get into law school and appreciate your feedback:

A) Apply for a MBA, graduate, then apply to law school.

B) Spend a year working in a law firm while upgrading and studying for my LSAT. An application with relevant work experience and improved grades may boost my chance of acceptance.

C) Apply to the UK, return to Canada, write my NCA exams, and hopefully obtain an articling opportunity. I read on this website that some do paralegal work after returning and prior to articling. While I understand the hurdles this option has, the UK's 2-year program appeals to me as I can get the studying component out of the way sooner than later. 

D) Write my LSAT after obtaining my bachelor degree. Apply to Canadian schools and UK schools. Decide what to do from there. This means I would start in the UK in Jan 2018 rather than Sept 2017.