Sign in to follow this  
CanadianLaw15

Best school in Canada for criminal law?

I'm not primarily choosing what law school off which is the strongest in criminal law (or at least seen as the strongest), but it would help make a decision. I heard it's between Osgoode and Queen's. I read that from old research online, couldn't find anything respectable made recently that made me think one way or another. I was thinking of practicing law mostly in the western region in Alberta, but I could go all over Canada I guess.

If you are planning on practicing in Alberta you should go to law school in Alberta. You will get a perfectly fine criminal law education at U of C or U of A.

Yeah. Speaking as a criminal defence lawyer, I'll add that there's so little to choose from between schools that I wouldn't factor this in even as one among various criteria. Wherever you end up, there will be a student clinic of some kind (volunteer there) and upper year courses in evidence, Charter issues, etc. (take them). You'll have as good an experience as you can practically get in terms of building a foundation in criminal law.

• Like 2

Yeah. Speaking as a criminal defence lawyer, I'll add that there's so little to choose from between schools that I wouldn't factor this in even as one among various criteria. Wherever you end up, there will be a student clinic of some kind (volunteer there) and upper year courses in evidence, Charter issues, etc. (take them). You'll have as good an experience as you can practically get in terms of building a foundation in criminal law.

So I should just go to the U of A?

So I should just go to the U of A?

I don't really know enough about your circumstances to say that definitively. But I'd say go to whatever school makes sense absent the question of criminal law. If you want to practice (at least probably) in Alberta, I'd go to a school in Alberta.

• Like 1