Sign in to follow this  
newstudent5500

Concordia vs University of Manitoba [for undergrad]

Looks like there is another option at this point.

Which school would you recommend to someone who is considering law school? I'm an American freshman who is about to transfer to one of these schools from UCLA. I'm inclined to pick Concordia because of Québec's provincial nominee program that would allow me to become a Permanent Resident of Canada after graduation. However, I'm also considering Manitoba because of the law school. My end goal is to go to law school in Canada.  

I'm supposed to decide soon, so I'd really appreciate any advice you may have. 

Thanks

I don't want to say bad things about Winnipeg but I think you'd be happier if you stayed away from there.

It generally doesn't matter where you went to undergrad. Manitoba Law won't really take in to consideration if you're a graduate from there when deciding on your application.

Unless you have particular reasons to want to go to U of M, there are plenty of other great schools in Canada that may be of interest to you so you may want to consider broadening your choices.

Montreal is arguably the ultimate North American student city

- Dirt nasty cheap rents in beautiful older buildings
- Party never stops Monday through Sunday, you can go out every night of the week if you like
- Cheap and delicious food options scattered everywhere. Poutine and Lebanese are especially good
- Wonderful and affordable public transit system with student rates
- Well built-out bicycle network with a healthy number of fully separated lanes

I loved my time there!

You're considering moving from Santa Monica to Winnipeg? Dear God why

Op must have killed a man or something.

Son, I don't know what kind of punishment you're running from, but nothing can be as bad as winter in Winnipeg.

• Like 1