Sign in to follow this  
tjnal

Taking a year off after graduating to study for LSAT

Will this look bad on my application? Is this a smart choice to make?

Average age for law school is something like 25. Admissions don't care what you do between the time your graduate and the time you apply. Unless you decide to do something like head up a new Rural-provincial branch of a modern Hitler Youth then you should be okay. But for the love of God, don't only study the LSAT. You'll go bonkers. Volunteer, or work, or something.

• Like 1

It probably won't matter much for your application.

I assume that you don't mean you'll be studying LSAT full time for a year? Not that it would impact your application, but that prob wouldn't be super efficient use of time...

Edited by conge

...I have said this before, but I'm always shocked by how much time people are spending preparing for the LSAT. I studied for a few weeks before writing, and it was a far cry from full time as I was in school and working as well.

I appreciate some people need to do it this way because they are overcoming a low diagnostic. But I think the vast majority of students are not planning out these time-intensive, gruelling schedules. I sometimes wonder if this site and other sites skew the perception of how much study is really required. There's got to be an element of one-man-upmanship involved. (Kind of like during exams when everyone is talking about how many hours and outlines and whatever they're putting in to impress everyone else, and a lot of them are just full of it.)

Anyway, OP, just posting this to offer a different perspective. Taking a year off to study for the LSAT sounds extreme to me.

• Like 9

Law schools won't care if you take a year off for any reason at all. But to join the chorus above, while law schools won't care, I at least will think you are fucking nuts.

• Like 2