Sign in to follow this  
throwman

Looking at applying in four years. Chances?

I have a bachelors degree in Political Science with a GPA of a 3.05 from an American University.During my time in undergrad I was a NCAA Division 1 athlete.   I am a first nations member and have been working as Court Administrator for my Tribal Court for the last 2 years. I am also an Olympic alternate and Canadian national champion. I plan to try and make the next Olympic games in 2020 and apply to law school after that. 

I have strong references from my time working in my Tribal Court and believe that I will only gain more in the next four years. I have not yet started studying for the LSAT but am planning on starting studying in the next year or so.  What do you think are my chances and what do you believe I could be doing to better my chances? What kind of LSAT score do you think I would need to get?  

Well, your background is extremely impressive, and you will definitely get looked at in a more positive light given that you are a first nation's member. They may even have a separate application section for you, but i'm not sure about this. 

Your GPA is fairly low, but given how holistic McGill is, it may be the best school to apply to for it. Aim your lsat for a 180 (seriously I tell this to everyone, because it honestly affects you subconciously and you end up doing less well than your true potential). Pragmatically, you'd want to aim above their median which last year was a 161 or 162, but this can vary significantly between now and 2020. 

Noone can give you a true accurate chances without seeing how you do on the lsat, but definitely write it I'd say because you have a shot. Just remember that you need a solid oral and reading comprehension of french for McGill, so work on that if you can until 2020 if need be.

If you have any other questions, feel free to PM me. 

• Like 1