Rachette

Is it normal to sign a separate independent contractor contract with the law firm as an articling student?

Ryn

This thread does not constitute legal advice. While there may be some useful information in here to jumpstart your search for answers, please reach out to the law society in your province if you have concerns about your relationship with your articling principal. Do not rely on any of the comments in this thread when making decisions.

Message added by Ryn

I am a law graduate who has been working as a paralegal with a small, newly formed law firm in Vancouver for the past few months. My boss is the only resident lawyer but there are a few other lawyers who have their own sole practices but associate with my boss's firm as independent contractors. There are a handfull of us who are employed full-time as support staff. When I was hired my boss knew I was looking for an articling position while I worked as a paralegal. To cut to the point, my boss is recently in a position where he can and will be my articling principal. However, he had told me that he will pay only 1/2 of the PLTC fee and wants me to switch my employment status from "employee" to "independent contractor" as a condition to letting me article with his firm. I would be his first articling student. He has not given me a clear reason why he wants me to sign an agreement to be an independent contractor with his firm in addition to the articling application I would submit to the BC Law Society, other than this is how it is usually done here in Vancouver with articling students. I am not sure if this really is the case and why.

Does this sound right? And can anybody advise on what type of contract a law firm usually signs with the articling student?

Edited by Rachette

Almost every articled student I've known was an employee for a contract term, but not an independent contractor.

Also remember: no one here can give you legal advice!